jump to navigation

Junior Mentors Speak: Why caring counts February 16, 2011

Posted by Science Club for Girls in Junior Mentors, Junior Mentors Speak.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback
Hello, my name is Mahshire and I love being a Junior Mentor. As a JM there is so much potential for personal growth. I’m learning how to follow and give instructions all at the same time. I’m also teaching and absorbing the different science concepts.

As a Mentor I’m learning how to set the right positive examples. Each girl learns and develops differently. One of my girls requires a little more attention than the others. A couple weeks ago she kept interrupting others and I had to remind her of the rules three times. It was then that I realized that this particular girl needed more. It’s not enough to just tell her what to do. She has to see that my words and actions are out of love and care.

It’s not enough to just tell her what to do. She has to see that my words and actions are out of love and care.

When a girl realizes you’re telling her to do something because you care about her well-being, she will be more open to listening. Being a Junior Mentor takes a lot of endurance and patience!

Note: Mahshire is a 12th grade student in Cambridge, MA. This was first published in our November 2010 newsletter for our volunteers. It’s too insightful not to share with everyone!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

